The Woman in White

Share this:

Send this via e-mail

Fill out the form below to share this page with your friends.

Enter multiple addresses on separate lines or separate them with commas.
(Your Name) has forwarded a page to you
(Your Name) thought you would like to see this page from the WDSE•WRPT web site.

The Woman in White, a new television series adapted from the 19th century mystery novel by Wilkie Collins, premiers on PBS this October. The five-part series stars Jessie Buckley (“Taboo”) as the strong-minded heroine Marian Halcombe; Ben Hardy (Bohemian Rhapsody) as the young teacher Walter Hartright; Olivia Vinall (Where Hands Touch) as the heiress Laura Fairlie; Dougray Scott (Mission: Impossible II) as the villainous Sir Percival Glyde; and Charles Dance (“Game of Thrones”) as Mr. Frederick Fairlie, the uncle of Laura and Marian.

When to watch:

  • Five-part series premieres Sunday, October 21, 2018 at 9pm on PBS North
  • Each episode airs at 9pm on Sundays through November 18, 2018
  • Episode details below preview video

The Woman in White begins when Walter Hartright, a young drawing master, encounters a spectral woman dressed all in white on a moonlit road on Hampstead Heath. After offering his assistance to the strange woman, he is shocked to discover that she has just escaped from a nearby insane asylum. The encounter draws him into a web of mystery and deception that transforms his life forever.

Shortly afterwards, Walter takes up a teaching position in the Cumbrian village of Limmeridge. There, he meets his pupils – the clever, bold Marian Halcombe and the beautiful, sweet-natured Laura Fairlie. Over the next few weeks, Walter and Laura form a strong attachment for one another. However, she is promised in marriage to Sir Percival Glyde, a charming local baronet with a secret he will do anything to protect.

TV Schedule:

Episode 1 - Oct. 21, 2018
Walter Hartright encounters a mysterious woman.

Episode 2 - Oct. 28, 2018
Laura makes a confession and Sir Percival’s friend, Count Fosco, comes to visit.

Episode 3 - Nov. 4, 2018
Laura learns the truth about Sir Percival. Marian searches for answers.

Episode 4 - Nov. 11, 2018
Count Fosco and Sir Percival set their plan into motion.

Episode 5 - Nov. 18, 2018
Secrets are revealed, and Walter risks everything.