2013 - 2014 High School Essay Writing Contest

This essay contest is now closed. Thank you for your participation - check back next year for another contest.

We are pleased to announce the topic for the WDSE•WRPT High School Essay contest for school year 2013-14. Students have the opportunity to submit an essay of up to 500 words on the designated topic:

“Describe a place or environment where you are perfectly content. What do you do or experience there, and why is it meaningful to you?”

This topic is also one of the five selected for the common college application essay topics for 2013-2014. Seniors applying to colleges where one of the common essay topics is required could use the essay for their applications. This essay would also work when applications require an open topic essay.

The deadline for essay submission is December 13, 2013. The essays may be mailed to the station at WDSE•WRPT 632 Niagara Court, Duluth, MN 55811 or submitted electronically at the link above. Students must include a submission form with their mailed or electronically submitted essays. These forms are also available at the website.

Prize Levels

We encourage English and composition teachers to make this an assignment for all grade 9-12 students to give everyone a chance to win one of scholarship prizes (the prize levels have been doubled from last year):

  • First Place: $1,000
  • Second Place: $500
  • Third Place: $250
  • Honorable Mention: $100 each (2 available)

A panel of area English teachers and college professors will read and judge the essays with the winners to be announced in February. A recognition ceremony will be held on March 30, 2014, in Duluth, to honor the top three winners and two honorable mention recipients and to award the scholarships.

If you have questions about the contest, please contact Sheryl Jensen at 218-525-4230 or Kathy Clark at 218-724-5147. We are very pleased to offer this special contest again this year for high school students in our viewing area. We appreciate the help of many area sponsors for providing the prize monies and funding the awards ceremony

The 2012-13 Scholarship Winners

Joey Chmelik, First Place, Cook County HS; Jenna Thomforde, Second Place, Drummond HS; Kendi Jayni Brenner, Third Place, Northwoods HS; Maia Killerud, Honorable Mention, Willow River HS; and Dylan Johnson, Honorable Mention, Superior Senior HS.